The University of Rizal System is a merger of two (2) state colleges and a University extension campus-the Rizal Polytechnic College, Rizal State College and the Rizal Technological University Antipolo Annex. The approval of Republic Act 9157 on August 11, 2001 established the University of Rizal System with URS Tanay as the main campus and its satellite campuses in Morong, Pililla, Rodriguez, Angono, Binangonan, Cainta, Antipolo ,Cardona and Taytay.

Rizal State College was originally named Rizal National Agricultural School created through Republic Act 1560 on June 16, 1956, and later evolved into Rizal College of Agriculture and Technology, a chartered state college in the Province of Rizal on June 24, 1983 through Batas Pambansa Blg. 622. It was later renamed Rizal State College by virtue of Republic Act 7858 on January 21, 1995. Through the years, the College expanded and established extension campuses in Pililla, Rodriguez, Angono, Binangonan and Antipolo City.


Rizal Polytechnic College was first established as the Morong High School on August 16, 1944. It was converted into Morong National High School on August 20, 1976, and to Morong National Comprehensive School on March 30, 1977. With the integration of Tomas Claudio Memorial Elementary School, it was converted into Morong National Comprehensive School, later renamed Rizal Technological and Polytechnic Institute (RTPI) on August 10, 1983 through Batas Pambansa 469. RTPI became a state college, the Rizal Polytechnic College, on March 1, 1995 through Republic Act 7933 with extension campuses in Cainta and Cardona.

Rizal Technological University Antipolo Annex became part of the fusion of the two state colleges.