URS Passes 22nd Milestone

The University of Rizal System celebrated its 22nd Founding Anniversary with the theme “URS @ 22: Upholding Ideals of Excellence in Public Service” on August 11, 2023, with the guest speaker and private sector representative to the Board of Regents (BOR) Engr. Elmer Espiritu. Also present in the celebration are Hon. Nina Ricci Ynares, Governor of Rizal Province; Hon. Casimiro “Jun” Ynares III, Mayor of Antipolo City; Dr. Philip Conrad Acop, representative of Hon. Romeo Acop, Congressman, 2nd District of Antipolo City; Dr. Luzviminda Moyano, representative of Hon. Ronnie Evangelista, Mayor of Montalban, Rizal; and Hon. Dan Masinsin, Mayor of Pililla, Rizal. In her inspirational message, Gov. Nina Ricci Ynares emphasized how the University of Rizal System has come a long way being the only state university in Rizal province, and that for 22 years, it has provided quality education to the Rizaleños. Moreover, Engr. Elmer Espiritu, the guest speaker, expounded on the essentials of excellent public service. He added, “A person of excellence pays attention to details.”

The celebration started with the motorcade at 7:00 a.m. followed by the Thanksgiving Mass, and opening program. Contests such as faculty and staff pop solo and search for Mr. and Ms. URS 2023 were held in the afternoon.  On the day before this event, various competitions facilitated by the University Center for Culture and Arts (UCCA) were joined in by student contestants from the ten campuses. Below is the list of competitions and winners.

Competition Winner Campus
On the Spot Painting Contest Vinn Adrian Gatchalian URS Angono
Poster Making Contest Nicholas Osma URS Rodriguez
Charcoal Rendering Contest John Kenneth Letrodo URS Angono
Pencil Drawing Contest Aldrin Catalan URS Cainta
Photography Contest Keith Morpheus Geronimo URS Antipolo City
Instrumental Solo Guitar Contest Jan Christian Panguito URS Angono
Instrumental Solo Violin Contest Dwight Frederick Sanvictores URS Morong
Instrumental Solo Piano Contest Joshua Defensor URS Tanay
Kundiman Singing Contest Christian Misolas URS Rodriguez
Vocal Duet Contest Kyle Cedric Santos & Angelica Cartasano URS Binangonan
Pop Solo Contest Nicolle Ulang URS Angono
Battle of the Bands EPHEMERAL URS Tanay
Mr. and Ms. URS 2023 Charles Leis & Aziel Mirandilla URS Antipolo City
Faculty and Staff Solo Singing Contest Christian Russel Rones URS Morong