Dr. Gagalang, Dr. Concepcion lauded in Guronasyon 2022

Two of the faculty members from the University of Rizal System are recognized in the recently concluded Guronasyon 2022 Awarding Ceremony with the theme: “Malikhaing Pagtugon ng Gurong Rizaleno sa Kasaysayan ng Pagsulong sa Makabagong Panahon”, December 9, Casimiro A. Ynares Sr. Auditorium, Binangonan, Rizal.

Dr. Jocelyn L. Gagalang was recognized as the Most Outstanding College Faculty. She currently serves as the director of the Office of the Public Affairs of URS and faculty of URS Pililla Campus. As an active researcher, she has done several researches in the field of English studies focusing on pedagogy, and as an extentionist, she has done community works by enriching the reading abilities of the students in the municipality of Pililla, Rizal.

For the category Most Outstanding Academic Head, Dr. Joanne Concepcion emerged as victor. She currently serves as the campus director of URS Binangonan Campus where she also teaches. Before serving as campus director, she was also one of the deans in their campus while actively performing her responsibilities in various university-based and community-based initiatives.

The other finalists for the Most Outstanding College Faculty were Dr. Jenisus O. Dejarlo of URS Morong Campus and Dr. Norberto M. Natano of URS Antipolo Campus. On the other hand, the finalists for Most Outstanding Academic Head were Dr. Julieta Fulgado of URS Pililla Campus and Dr. Lourdes Tejada of URS Antipolo Campus.

This year’s awarding ceremony was hosted by URS.

In the program proper, the program started with the grand entrance of the guests which consists of the LGU officials, Guronasyon Foundation Inc. Executive Committee, and URS Officials among others. After the usual preliminaries, the University of Rizal System Culture and the Arts formally started the program with an ethnic-themed production which then followed by the presentation of Guronasyon 2022 finalists.

There were a total of 33 finalists recognized in the Guronasyon 2022 for the following categories: Most Outstanding Elementary School Teacher, Most Outstanding Secondary School Teacher, Most Outstanding Elementary School Principal, Most Outstanding Secondary Principal, Most Outstanding Tek-Bok Trainer, Most Outstanding College Faculty, and Most Outstanding Academic Head. The winners for outstanding teachers and school principal from the DepEd Division of Rizal and City Schools Division of Antipolo were selected separately.

(On Photos: Dr. Marites M. Rio, Hon. Cesar M. Ynares, Hon. Casimiro “Junjun” A. Ynares, and Dr. Nancy T. Pascual)

Dr. Marites M. Rio, vice president for RDEP of URS, delivered opening remarks. It was followed by the greetings of Hon. Cesar M. Ynares, Mayor of the Municipality of Binangonan, and Hon. Casimiro “Junjun” A. Ynares, former governor of the Province of Rizal and the current mayor of Antipolo City. Dr. Nancy T. Pascual, URS president, also delivered a message and introduced the guest of honor.

Hon. Francis Joseph “Chiz” Guevara Escudero, senator of the Republic of the Philippines, delivered his keynote speech as the guest of honor via online message.

The new Guronasyon Hymn was launched through the performance of selected students of URS. The hymn was composed by Dr. Leo Rio, director of Production of URS, with Dr. Marites M. Rio for the song lyrics.

The announcement of winners and launching of the Guronasyon Scholarship/GMD scholarship grant followed.

On Photos: The children of Ms. Judith Duavit-Vasquez)

Ms. Judith Duavit-Vasquez represented the Guronasyon Foundation, Inc. in the delivery of the closing remarks.

The whole program ended with a finale performance by the UCCA. Atty. Jansen A. San Juan and Prof. Susana D. Dimatira hosted the program. (TSP)